Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a dispensary?

We estimate that you can begin planning for a Nevada dispensary for around $60,000. This includes planning and the lawyers needed to set up your business entity. Also included are some consulting fees, since you'll most likely not know about all the facets of this industry. But this is just to get started. To build out a dispensary we estimate it will cost $300,000 to $500,000 depending on the size of the operation. For a cultivation facility we estimate $500,000 to $1,000,000. The application fee is $5,000 and if awarded a dispensary the license fee is $30,000.

Can I apply for more than one dispensary?

To prevent monopolistic practices, the Division shall ensure, in a county whose population is 100,000 or more, that it does not issue, to any one person, group of persons or entity, the greater of: (a) One medical marijuana establishment registration certificate; or (b) More than 10 percent of the medical marijuana establishment registration certificates otherwise allocable in the county.

What other requirements does the department require for applicants?

The department mandates background checks for persons proposed to be owners, officers or board members of medical marijuana establishments, and requires such establishments to be sited at least 1,000 feet from existing schools and at least 300 feet from certain existing community facilities.

How soon will I be able to open my dispensary?

The Health Division must establish rules by April 1, 2014. The Division will accept applications for no more than 10 business days in each calendar year, and it will then have 90 days to act on each medical marijuana business application. We forecast the earliest openings to be the first quarter of 2015.

Nevada MMJ Regulations News
About Nevada SB374
Gov. Brian Sandoval signed S.B. 374 into law
12 - June- 2013
You can view the SB374 Nevada Program text PDF here